Dr. Augustine A. Boakye, Chairperson - Division of Business

Dr. Augustine A. Boakye
Division of Business

Creating Opportunities and Preparing Professionals

The Division is determined to creating opportunities for all. It offers A.S. degree programs designed to prepare students to transfer to four-year institutions, and A.A.S. and certificate programs designed to prepare students for business careers immediately upon graduation or to develop technical skills in specialized areas.


The Business Division provides one-on-one academic and career advisement, encourages students clubs, promotes Business Plan Competitions and offers courses in-class and online to meet students’ needs.


ACBSP is the leading specialized accreditation association dedicated to improving the quality of business schools and programs around the world. It stands for teaching excellence and student learning outcomes. ACBSP is recognized by the U.S. CHEA. Essex County College Business Division is ACBSP ACCREDITED


Certificates of Completion:



Our Stars:

Tyrone WheelerCongratulations to Tyrone Wheeler, who recently graduated from Seton Hall University!  He was also featured in an article in the Wall Street Journal, which highlighted his sometimes rocky road to success!!!




Cedric Eyoum TimboCedric Eyoum Timbo joined Essex as an international student. With dedication, he graduated with 3.9 GPA (class of 2015) and obtained a scholarship to Caldwell University, NJ. He was the President of International Club and a key organizer of the Business Club.




The Business Division is proud to announce our two Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Transfer Recipients.


Ms. Carla Alvarez Valverde received the undergraduate scholarship in 2012 and transferred to Columbia University and received Graduate Scholarship (2015) and now studying at the Institute d’Etudes Politique de Paris.


Ms. Karolina Caraveli Campos received the undergraduate scholarship in 2013 and currently attending Rutgers Business School – New Brunswick.


Department & Faculty Contact Information:

Division of Business
A. Zachary Yamba Building; Room 3168A (Green Area)
303 University Ave.
Newark, NJ 07102
Phone: (973)877-3222


Matilda Abavana, Accounting
(973)877-3198 / abavana@essex.edu / Office: 3172


Germaine Albuquerque, Business
(973)877-4423 / albuquer@essex.edu / Office: 3166


Jean-Wilner Alexandre, Economics/ Finance
(973)877-3199 / jalexan5@essex.edu / Office: 3173


Harry Bernstein, Business – West Essex
(973)877-3225 / hbernstein@essex.edu / Office: 3178


Augustine Boakye, Chairperson
(973)877-3443 / aboakye@essex.edu / Office: 3170


Louella Harris, Administrative Assistant
(973)877-3222 / lharris1@essex.edu / Office: 3180


Shelby Hawkins, CIS/OCT
(973)877-3189 / shawkins@essex.edu / Office: 3169


Daxay Patel, CIS
(973)877-3569 / patel@essex.edu / Office: 3179


Raquel Pernia, Accounting
(973)877-3095 / pernia@essex.edu / Office: 3181


Gerald Savage, Accounting
(973)877-3494 / savage@essex.edu / Office: 3168


Karen Scuorzo, Business
(973)877-3464 / scuorzo@essex.edu / Office: 3182


Doris Tori, Accounting
(973)877-3393 / tori@essex.edu / Office: 3176


Ladylease White, Business
(973)877-3205 / white@essex.edu / Office: 3198