The College’s Zeta Tau Chapter of the Chi Alpha Epsilon (XAE) National Honor Society is off to a tremendous start with 48 inaugural inductees. The students were inducted into the honor society for the Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) in a special ceremony held January 29.


“You epitomize excellence in academics,” Dr. Edwin Knox, Vice President of Academic Affairs/Chief Academic Officer, told the students. “It’s important that you stay on target; you will go further than you ever imagined.”


Dr. Knox then gave a message to the students on behalf of President Gale E. Gibson. Dr. Gibson, a XAE member from her days as an EOF undergraduate student, will pay the students’ first year of membership in the society.


XAE is the equivalent of Phi Theta Kappa (the international two-year college honor society) for academic developmental program students, said Stephanie Falana, Assistant to the Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics & Health Sciences, who is also a XAE member.


“The easy part is over; we will work with our incoming students so they will be prepared to join and succeed in our Zeta Tau Chapter,” Ms. Falana said to the inductees. With the chapter already launched, she predicted the next induction will be just as large, if not larger.


To be eligible, students must be full-time and have a minimum 3.0 grade point average for two consecutive semesters.


The students inducted into XAE include:

First Name Last Name Major
Olayinka Akinsogba General Science
Jacinta Aniebue General Science
Chychy Anyaegbu General Science
Najeya Banks Criminal Justice
Disleida Bernard
Ines Berrospi Accounting
Virginia Best Social Work
Oksana Biyovska Accounting
Amberlyn Borden Social Science
Erik Briceno Criminal Justice
Leslie Cabrera Human and Social Services
Maria Camacho Social Science
Anner Campbell
Louissaint Casnel Accounting
Martha Castro Accounting
Victoria Cooper Social Science
Mia Dorsey Social Sciences
Adline Eke General Science
Maria Ferreira Social Science
Marie Forges Social Science
Yaa Frempong Business Administration
Ramirez Geuel Liberal Arts
Diana Guaman General Science/Dental Hygiene
Judith Guillen Education
Christopher Halleran Paralegal Studies
Colleen Holland Accounting
Elie Jean Liberal Arts
Nicole Lassiter Liberal Arts
Manoucheka Meronvil Nursing
Dawn Mitchell
Laribel Montilla Art
Henry Mujahid Criminal Justice
Colin Nyrva General Science
Omotayo Olanrewaju Nursing
Walid Omer Engineering
Martha Pozo Liberal Arts
Dena Quittley
Elizabeth Ramirez Nursing
Cassandra Roberts Social Science
Angie Romain Education
John Rueda Social Work
Vilma Saavedra
Alfredo Salgado
Raymond Spencer Communications
Rosa Velastegui Liberal Arts
Senir Vernet ESL
Randy Westry Education
Gladys Yanqui General Science
Print Friendly, PDF & Email