First Kappa Beta Delta Induction Ceremony Celebrates Business Division Excellence

Kappa Beta Delta inductees


The Business Division of Essex County College recently held its inaugural international Kappa Beta Delta (KBD) Honor Society induction ceremony.  The event, at the West Essex campus in West Caldwell, saw 15 outstanding students and 10 faculty members formally inducted into the prestigious honor society. The College is one of only four New Jersey community colleges accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP).

KBD is the international honor society for associate degree business schools accredited by ACBSP.

ECC President Dr. Augustine A. Boakye, who was also inducted as an honorary member, presided over the ceremony, emphasizing the importance of dedication, leadership, and scholarly achievement. “This induction is not just a recognition of your hard work, but a call to continue striving for excellence in all your endeavors,” he stated.

The KBD honor society recognizes academic excellence in students pursuing business degrees and honors faculty demonstrating exceptional teaching and leadership. The inducted students and professors are now part of a global network of business professionals committed to lifelong learning and ethical business practices, said Dr. John Olotewo, the KBD faculty advisor at the College.

“The Business Division looks forward to continuing this tradition, inspiring future generations to achieve greatness in the world of business,” said Division Chair Germaine Albuquerque. “This marks a significant milestone in the College’s commitment to academic excellence and professional development.”

ACBSP is present at more than 1,000 campuses across the globe, including over 160 associate degrees institutions. Kappa Beta Delta is one of the benefits ACBSP accredited programs can offer their students. Only institutions with ACBSP accredited business programs are eligible to establish a Kappa Beta Delta Chapter.

Students inducted were Kate Bontia (Chapter President), Oluwateniayo Onaiyekan (Chapter Vice President), Samirah Scantling, Angelica Laguador, Brian Sucre, Bryan Atariguana, Kadigue Sidibe, Marlon Richards, Naihara Cabrera, Nizar Aallalou, Paola Argandona, Rihanata Sana, Robert Cole, Rodney Watkins, and Christopher Andrade.